Adult Entertainment App Secretly Snapping Your Picture

September 8, 2015  |  

Nothing in life is free, and apparently, some mobile users are learning this lesson the hard way. No pun intended.

According to the CNN, some people who downloaded the “free” Android pornography app, Adult Player, were alarmed when the app notified them that it had been secretly snapping photos of them, and then locked them out of their devices. Users then received a ransom notification demanding that they send a $500 PayPal transfer if they wanted to keep their information and data private. If the money is sent via PayPal’s “My Cash” gift card feature, the app promises to unlock the phone and decrypt the photos within 24 hours of receiving payment. Reportedly, the alerts was are crafted to appear as a message from the FBI.

The app is a type of malware called “ransomware,” which takes mobile devices and computers hostage then demands payment to unlock them. Not to worry, there’s a way to regain control of your mobile devices without giving up $500. Zscaler recommends that infected phones be rebooted in “safe mode.” From there, users are advised to go to “settings,” “apps,” and then uninstall Adult Player.

According to Zscaler, only a dozen people have been infected by the ransomware, but it’s quite scary to think that this trend could catch on. Thankfully, attacks like this one are fairly easy to avoid at this point. Adult Player can only be downloaded from illegitimate websites, so Android users are advised only to download apps from the Google Play store.

Trending on MadameNoire

Comment Disclaimer: Comments that contain profane or derogatory language, video links or exceed 200 words will require approval by a moderator before appearing in the comment section. XOXO-MN