Don’t Open That Video! New Virus Is Using Facebook To Gain Access To Passwords

August 30, 2013  |  

Be careful the next time you log onto Facebook. Business Insider reports that Facebook has become the target of a malware attack that poses as a video from one of your Facebook friends.

This new threat actually hijacks your Facebook account and Web browsers, according to Italian security researchers who have been investigating the issue, adds the The New York Times.

Here’s the tricky part: The virus looks like a link in an email or Facebook message that tells you someone has tagged you in a Facebook post. Then when you go to Facebook and click the link you’re forwarded to a different website and directed to download a browser extension or plug in so you can watch the video.

Here is where the virus comes into play. After you do the download, the attack can gain access to everything you have stored in your browser, including accounts with saved passwords.

The attack has spread fast. Researchers warn that the virus has been spreading at a rate of about 40,000 attacks an hour. More than 800,000 people have been infected through Google’s Chrome browser.

“Google is aware of the attack and has already disabled the extensions that allowed it. Facebook also detected the virus and is working to clear the links,” reports Business Insider.

According to Facebook, it is currently blocking people from clicking through the links.

Trending on MadameNoire

View Comments
Comment Disclaimer: Comments that contain profane or derogatory language, video links or exceed 200 words will require approval by a moderator before appearing in the comment section. XOXO-MN
blog comments powered by Disqus