New App, Secret.li, Self-Destructs Your Facebook Photos

August 12, 2013  |  

Tired of everyone snooping at your Facebook photos? There is now a new way to share your photos only with a select few. You can encrypt them using Secret.li  “It lets you take pictures and apply a filter so that the image is just a mass of unrecognizable pixels when you upload it to Facebook,” explains Mashable. After this, you can make them accessible for a certain amount of time to a certain group of people. When people who do not have your approval see the photo on your newsfeed, it  will only look like a colorful mess. (Check out the image above.)

When the time period has expired, the photo deletes itself from the app and Facebook.

To use the app you will need access to your Facebook account. It is currently available on the app store for the iPhone 3GS or later.

Image privacy and security has become more pressing in an age of racy tweets, “accidental” Instagram posts, and perhaps naive young people passing around messages. The clip below goes into some of the technology that has developed to handle this new privacy need in the digital age.

Would you use this app?

http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9?isVid=1&isUI=1

Trending on MadameNoire

View Comments
Comment Disclaimer: Comments that contain profane or derogatory language, video links or exceed 200 words will require approval by a moderator before appearing in the comment section. XOXO-MN
blog comments powered by Disqus